Mozambique News Agency

Local Elections latest results

Local election results at 16.00

Maputo, 20 Nov (AIM) - Throughout Thursday results from the Mozambican local elections have trickled in, and confirm the original trend - namely that the ruling Frelimo Party has won the great majority of the 33 municipalities.

The results are a serious blow to the main opposition force, the Renamo-Electoral Union coalition. So far it looks certain to win two municipalities - Mozambique Island and Angoche - and is favourite to win a third, Nacala. These are all located on the coast of the northern province of Nampula.

Renamo was confident that it would win in the country's second largest city, Beira, but the Frelimo candidate, Djalma Lourenco, has made a strong showing in the polling stations in central Beira. But as results come in from outlying areas, it is quite likely that the Renamo candidate, Davis Simango will overtake Lourenco.

Virtually no information is available yet from another Nampula town, Monapo, or from Quelimane, capital of Zambezia province. Nor have sufficient polling stations in Nampula city reported to make a confident prediction of the winner here. It is possible, but far from certain, that Renamo could take all these municipalities. This would give Renamo a final tally of seven municipalities, while Frelimo takes the other 26.

As for the minor parties and most of the independents, disaster has overtaken them. By and large their results have been derisory. The major exception to this is Philippe Gagnaux of the Maputo independent group "Juntos pela Cidade" (JPC - Together for the City). On current showing he is likely to come second in the capital, beating Renamo candidate Artur Vilanculos into third place.

The other two Maputo independents, Carlos Jeque and Pedro Loforte, have done very badly indeed: in some polling stations they did not pick up a single vote.

As for such groups as the Labour Party (PT), the Independent Party of Mozambique (PIMO), the Ecological Party, and the Mozambique National Union (UNAMO), their dismally poor showing in the municipal assembly elections is ample evidence that most voters have never heard of them.

Any belief that the candidates supported by IPADE (Institute for Peace and Democracy) might make serious inroads into the Renamo vote has been shattered. IPADE has not done significantly better than any other minor party.

IPADE is an NGO set up by Raul Domingos, the former head of the Renamo parliamentary group, who was expelled from the party in 2000. Domingos is setting up a new opposition party, the PDD (Party for Peace, Democracy and Development), and IPADE's participation in the local elections was a trial run for the PDD's participation in the 2004 general elections. The IPADE showing must be a bitter disappointment for Domingos. Throughout the country turnout has been low, but much better than the 15 per cent turnout in the first local elections, held in 1998. The figures currently available suggest that final turnout might reach between 25 and 30 per cent.

The low turnout seems to have hurt Renamo: a legitimate conclusion would be that Frelimo supporters are more committed than Renamo ones.

The following results have been tabulated from reports sent in by Radio Mozambique and AIM correspondents. These reports are drawn directly from the polling stations where the votes were counted immediately after the polls closed on Wednesday evening, in the presence of monitors from the political parties and other candidates, local and foreign observers, and journalists. Unless otherwise stated, the results are only from some, not all, of the polling stations in each municipality.

In this item, AIM is only giving results for the mayoral elections. But in every municipality that AIM is aware of, the results for the assemblies follow the same trend as for the mayors.


Agostinho Ntuali (Frelimo) 8,241
Mussa Incacha (Renamo) 3,391
Fabiao Namiva (Independent) 466

Montepuez (full count)

Rafael Correia (Frelimo) 8,250
Luis Culaire (Renamo) 2,805

Mocimboa da Praia

Cassimo Abdala (Frelimo) 3,454
Jaide Assane (Renamo) 3,340


Teodosio Uatata (Frelimo) 972
Maria Moreno (Renamo) 802

Metangula (full count)

Anafe Achimo (Frelimo) 1,334
Orlando Esquadro (Renamo) 164


Castro Namuaca (Frelimo) 2,456
Luis Mecupia (Renamo) 1,660


Alberto Assane (Renamo) 5,408
Jose Constantino (Frelimo) 5,001
Isidro Assane (Independent) 456


Manuel Jose dos Santos (Renamo) 2,611
Geraldo Caetano (Frelimo) 1,806


Joao Bernardo (Frelimo) 2,045
Luis Silva (Renamo) 565
Baptista Juliao (Union for Change) 135


Rogerio Gaspar (Frelimo) 3,287
Jose Manteigas (Renamo) 1,215

Milange (full count)

Loborino Alamane (Frelimo) 1,760
Lourenco Impissa (Renamo) 617


Cesar de Carvalho (Frelimo) 13,643
Jose Caloamba (Renamo) 5,528


Cassiano Marcelino (Frelimo) 4,659
Fabiao Bjingue (Renamo) 1,624


Alberto Sarande (Frelimo) 10,637
Pedro Siavaca (Renamo) 6,447


Eusebio Gondiwa (Frelimo) 2,300
Verediano Manivete (Renamo) 612


Moguene Candeeiro (Frelimo) 3,549
Jose Nicolau (Renamo) 926

Marromeu (full count)

Alberto Joaquim (Frelimo) 1,943
Joao Agostinho (Renamo) 1,931

Beira (very few polling stations)

Djalma Lourenco (Frelimo) 7,986
Davis Simango (Renamo) 6,341
Antonio Simao (IPADE) 183
Pedro Langa (PIMO) 126


Manuel Cambezo (Frelimo) 6,299
Joaquim Greva (Renamo) 3,247
Matias Traquino (IPADE) 610


Lourenco Macul (Frelimo) 5,213
Francisco Manuel (Renamo) 578
Aida Chicalia (Independent) 267
Jose Pagula (IPADE) 137


Narciso Pedro (Frelimo) 5,169
Manuel Manhique (Renamo) 642

Vilankulo (full count)

Sulemane Amugi (Frelimo) 3,143
Manuel Gulucha (Renamo) 383


Francisco Chichongue (Frelimo) 5,952
Pedro Pelembe (Renamo) 513


Casimiro Monjane (Frelimo) 1,430
Idrisse Abdala (Independent) 339
Aurelio Jamisse (Renamo) 43


Alberto Chicuamba (Frelimo) 874
Antonio Cavele (Renamo) 85

Matola (very few polling stations)

Carlos Tembe (Maputo) 4,576
Albino Mapanga (Renamo) 556

Maputo (very few polling stations)

Eneas Comiche (Frelimo) 6,380
Philippe Gagnaux (Independent) 1,073
Artur Vilanculos (Renamo) 1.023
Carlos Jeque (IPADE) 169
Pedro Loforte (Independent) 72

AIM still has results from none, or very few, polling stations in Lichinga, Monapo, Mozambique Island, Quelimane, Xai- Xai and Chokwe. However, Frelimo accepts that Renamo has won Mozambique Island, and Xai-Xai and Chokwe are certain to deliver huge Frelimo majorities.

All the above results are unofficial, and require confirmation by the National Elections Commission.

Mozambique News Agency

c/o 114 Stanford Avenue Brighton BN1 6FE UK.

Tel: +44 (0) 7941 890630,

email: Mozambique News Agency

Return to index